Skip to main content

This past weekend, Kyrre Lien received the Lumix Multimedia Awards for his multi-media project ‘The Internet Warriors’ at the sixth Lumix Festival for Young Photojournalists.

The former NJP photographer was given the prize of EUR 5.000 during the awards ceremony in the Festival’s venue in Hannover, Germany. In the huge Expo area outside of Hannover, the Festival shows the works of 60 young photojournalists, selected from more than 1 200 entries submitted.

A number of other prizes were also awarded during the festival. The winner of this year’s Lumix Festival is Florian Müller for his photo series ‘Hashtags Unplugged – Von Lastern und Leitmotiven’. In this project, the photographer explores social media, and meets people who use social media to score ‘likes’ as a measure of success. 35-year-old Müller was awarded EUR 10 000 for first place.

Photo: Florian Müller

Three honourable mentions were awarded, accompanied by EUR 1000 each. They went to Ezra Acayan (25) from the Philippines, Elena Anosova (34) from Russia and Esa Ylijaaskko (28) from Finland.

Honourable mention in the multimedia category went to Ann Sophie Lindström (33), while The Lammerhuber Photography Award was awarded to the Finnish photographer Aleksi Poutanen (32), for his portrayal of the strong bonds that exist between people and nature in Finland.

The Sustainability Prize went to French Zen Lefort (24), who has documented the struggle of the young generation of Lakota Sioux nation, who are fighting against the building of the Dakota Access pipeline in the USA. The Hannoversche Allgemeine Zeitung (HAZ) People’s Choice Award was conferred on 24-year-old Josef by Elias Holzknecht.

Photo: Ezra Acayan

Photo: Elena Anosova

Photo: Esa Ylijaaskko

This site is registered on as a development site.